How National Library Service for the Blind Users Can Download Carmella’s Quest

For those of you who read books specially produced by National Library Service for the Blind and have wanted to read Carmela’s Quest, it can be downloaded from the SC State Library Talking Book Services collection of recorded books on the LionShare site without having to bother with doing an interlibrary loan. It is not available for download through the BARD main site yet (TBS tells me they’re working on that). It is available through SCTBS’s own digital collection, however. TBS Lionshare is a service similar to BARD but for locally produced digital talking books and magazines. Besides Carmella’s Quest, there are a lot of other titles that may be of particular interest to those from SC, as well as others interested in good writing from or about South Carolina. Just like BARD, downloaded audio files are zipped and need to be unzipped onto a flash drive to play. Go to this link and do a JAWS find or search for “Carmella’s Quest.”
http://www.statelibrary.sc.gov/lionshare

When you download CQ from this site, you will be able to listen to me reading it. I recently downloaded it myself so I could leave it playing for my new guide dog if I’m away from her for a few minutes while in the shower or something. I wanted her to be able to hear my voice while she’s relaxing in her crate to continue the bonding process even when I’m not with her. I’ve listened to some of it myself again, for the first time in a while, and am still frankly amazed at how well it turned out. I’m so proud of this project and so thankful that TBS was willing to give my idea for how to do this a try. It turned out better than I ever could have imagined.

The article I wrote about this process, “In My Own Voice: The Carmella’s Quest Colaboration” can be found online in the March 2011 issue of The Braille Forum.
http://acb.org/node/218
This article received the ACB’s national Ned E Freeman Award for Excellence in Writing in 2011.
http://www.statelibrary.sc.gov/local-blind-author-receives-national-writing-award

Recording the book, writing the article, and receiving this award were all such great experiences. I am blessed and humbled by this whole chain of events.

One thought on “How National Library Service for the Blind Users Can Download Carmella’s Quest

Leave a Reply

